Gluten Free Oatmeal


Is there such a thing as gluten free oatmeal and gluten free oats? And are oats harmful for someone allergic to gluten or someone with celiac disease?

The answer to these questions is not as simple as it might seem. Research on the subject of whether or not oats contain gluten is mixed. Recent European research suggests that pure oats are safe for people with celiac disease. However, a small percentage of people with celiac disease show a T cell response to pure oats that suggest oats are harmful for them.





One issue of concern is that fact that oats are rarely pure. They are often contaminated with wheat or barely. One study of 134 varieties of oats from the U.S., Canada, and Europe that were reported to be “pure” or “uncontaminated” found that in truth 75% of the samples were in fact contaminated with wheat or barley. The main reason oats are likely to be contaminated is that they are often processed in plants that also process wheat and barely and the equipment used is not cleaned thoroughly between different types of food being processed. Obviously eating oats contaminated with wheat or barley is unsafe for people with celiac disease.

Gluten Free Oats

It appears that if you buy a bag of oats at the grocery store, they are not likely to be gluten free oats even if the package does not list wheat or barley as an ingredient. The oats are likely to be contaminated. However, there are a number of companies that sell rolled oats that they guarantee to be gluten free and free from all contamination. Some brands to look for include Bob’s Red Mill, Gluten Free Oats, Cream Hill Estates, Legacy Valley, and Gifts of Nature. Gluten free oats can be use to make oatmeal, of course, but they can also be used in breads, cookies, and other baked goods.

Gluten Free Oatmeal

It seems that many common brands of oatmeal may not be gluten free, even if the package does not list wheat or barley as an ingredient. The oats may be contaminated. However, there are a number of companies that make gluten free oatmeal and guarantee that their oats are not contaminated and that their oatmeal really is gluten free. Brands to look for include GlutenFreeda, Holly’s Oatmeal, Gluten Free Oats, and Cream Hill Estate. Gluten free instant oatmeal comes in a variety of flavors, just like regular oatmeal does. Of course, you can also purchase gluten free rolled oats and make your own oatmeal.

Gluten Free Oatmeal Crockpot Recipe

This gluten free oatmeal crockpot recipe is easy to prepare and it makes a healthy, hearty breakfast. If you don’t eat it all the day you make it, you can refrigerate leftovers and reheat them for the next few days.

Ingredients:

Directions:

Simply place all ingredients in your crockpot, mix well, and set on low. Cook overnight and breakfast will be ready and waiting for you in the morning.

Alternatives to Oatmeal

There are a number of other gluten free hot cereals you can enjoy in addition to oatmeal, such as quinoa, millet, rice cereal or cream of rice, and corn grits. Brands to look for include Arrowhead Mills yellow corn grits, Holly’s gluten free plain porridge, Bob’s Red Mills gluten free hot cereal, Bob’s Red Mill brown rice farina, Bob’s Red Mill creamy buckwheat, Lundberg’s brown rice hot cereal, and Eco Heaven gluten free hot cereal. Just make sure you read the labels on any hot cereals carefully to make sure they are really gluten free.








More than gluten free oatmeal on our list of gluten free foods page

Quickcare Self Care Home Page


 

 

Disclaimer, Copyright and Privacy Notice