What Foods Contain Gluten


People with celiac disease or gluten intolerance need to be very aware of what foods contain gluten so they can avoid them. It can be a challenge to avoid all foods with gluten since gluten is found in wheat, rye, and barley, and those are common ingredients in all kinds of foods.





What Foods Contain Gluten?

Common foods that contain gluten include:

Other Foods with Gluten

There are other foods with gluten that may not come to mind readily when you think about what foods contain gluten. Things to watch out for include:

Reading Labels to See What Foods Contain Gluten

If you need to avoid gluten in your diet, you will need to learn to read labels very carefully to see what foods contain gluten. Food labels do not normally list “gluten” as an ingredient, however. Here are some ingredients to watch out for:

Some food packages state on the label that they are gluten free, but it is still a good idea to read the label carefully to make sure it contains no suspect ingredients. Note that if a food product states it is wheat free, it may still contain gluten, so definitely read the label. It is also a good idea to read the label on packaged or processed foods every time you buy them, because manufacturers can change ingredients at any time. Just because it did not contain gluten the last time you bought it, that does not mean it will not contain gluten now.

If you have questions about the ingredients in a food item, you can always phone the manufacturer with questions. If in doubt about an item, though, it’s best to avoid it.

Alternatives to Foods with Gluten

There are, fortunately, many good alternatives to foods with gluten. There are gluten free flour mixes that can be purchased at many stores, or any number of flours can be substituted for wheat flour in recipes. Some alternatives include rice flour, almond flour (or flour made from other nuts), buckwheat (which is really not wheat at all), amaranth flour, cornmeal, cornstarch, arrowroot, potato starch flour, quinoa, soya flour, gram flour (made from chickpeas; not the same thing as graham flour, which does contain gluten), and tapioca starch. These flours can be used in baked goods and other foods. Often a combination of flours is used, not just one single flour.

Gluten free pasta, gluten free bread and other baked goods, and many other food products are available at many grocery stores and health food stores. Many restaurants now offer gluten free pasta, pizza crust, and other foods. If you have questions about any dishes in restaurants, just ask. If the server doesn’t know about the ingredients, he can go back to the kitchen and find out. Or to be even safer, ask to speak to the chef yourself.








More than what foods contain gluten on our celiac disease symptoms page

Quickcare Self Care Home Page


 

 

Disclaimer, Copyright and Privacy Notice